Real trial lawyers with a
passion for helping people
50+ years combined experience No fees unless we recover for you
Request free consultation

How To Get a Copy of Your Florida Car Accident Report

request free consultation
Posted By Legal Team | March 12 2024 | Car Accidents

After sustaining injuries or property damage in a Florida car accident, you are going to need the car accident report. Insurance carriers will need the accident report before they begin to process a claim, and you need the report for your personal records, particularly if you have to file a lawsuit to recover additional compensation.

When Can You Get Your Report?

Examining Section 316.065, Florida Statutes, we see that vehicle accidents must be reported if they involve any injury of any party, wrongful death, or a vehicle accident with at least $500.00 of estimated property damage. Violation of this law could result in a person receiving a citation, fine, or even jail time.

But, it may take up to 10 days for your accident report to be available after law enforcement officials come to the scene to conduct an investigation. The good news is that these crash reports are readily available online after the incident.

Steps For Receiving Your Florida Crash Report

If you have any questions about how to receive your car accident report, we encourage you to speak to the attorney representing your claim if you have one. A car accident lawyer in St. Petersburg, Florida can help you handle every aspect of the process. They will not only work to obtain your accident report, but they can conduct a full investigation into the incident to uncover any additional evidence that can help you recover compensation.

Most individuals are able to obtain their vehicle accident report through the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) department website. These reports are available for purchase at $10 per report. However, there is an additional convenience fee of $2.00 applied to each transaction through the online portal.

Requesting and receiving your report online will almost certainly be the quicker route to receiving your accident report.

Individuals can also receive crash reports by mail or in person. You can request a crash report by mailing your request to:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Crash Records

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28

Tallahassee, FL 32399

Payment must be included with the request.

Individuals can also go to the FHP Troop Station nearest to where the incident occurred to receive their crash report in person.

Who Makes the Car Accident Report to the State?

If you are involved in a vehicle accident with an injury, fatality, or estimated property damage of $500 or more, you should call 911 so law enforcement officials can come to the scene to complete an accident report. If the police come to the scene and conduct an investigation, they will submit the report to the state.

Drivers involved in minor crashes may need to self-report their crash if police officers do not investigate the incident and submit a report. You can download the self-reporting car accident forms here. After the form is completed, it should be sent via e-mail to or by traditional mail to the same address for the FLHSMV mentioned above.

Free Consultation

  • *required fields
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.