Operating a moped, scooter, or motorcycle in Florida requires the rider to understand state laws specific to each vehicle. The requirements for these three vehicles are not all the same, so we encourage you to perform a deeper dive into your specific vehicle type before hitting the roadway. Here, our St. Petersburg motorcycle accident attorneys outline some of the main laws for each type of vehicle.
Florida Motorcycle Laws
Motorcycles are considered motor vehicles that have a seat or saddle for a rider’s use and are designed to travel on no more than three wheels contacting the ground at a time, per section 320.01(26), Florida Statutes.
Do You Need a License? Yes, motorcycle operators in Florida must obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their valid driver’s license.
Do You Have to Register It? Yes, cycles must be registered with the state DMV.
Do You Need a Helmet? Individuals under the age of 21 must wear a motorcycle helmet when operating a motorcycle. Individuals aged 21 and over do not have to wear a helmet if they choose not to.
Age Restrictions? Be at least 16 years of age (special requirements for individuals under 18).
Florida Moped Laws
Per section 320.01(27), Florida Statutes, a moped is classified as any vehicle with pedals permitting human propulsion that has a seat or saddle for the use of a rider and will travel on no more than three wheels but has a motor rated not to exceed 2 brake horsepower and not capable of reaching speeds of greater than 30 mph on level ground. If an internal combustion system is used, the power must not exceed 50 cubic centimeters, or a moped will be considered a motorcycle.
Do You Need a License? Operators must have a class E driver’s license or a “motorcycle only” driver’s license.
Do You Have to Register It? You must register a moped with the state, but you do not have to have a title for a moped.
Do You Need a Helmet? Any person under 16 years of age may not ride on a moped unless wearing a properly fitting protective helmet.
Age Restrictions? Be about 16 years of age.
Florida Scooter Laws
Examining Chapter 322, Florida Statutes, we can see there is no definition of motor scooters written into the wall. Thus, these fall under the definition of a motorcycle, which means individuals must follow the same restrictions and requirements.
Do You Need a License? Scooter operators must have a valid regular driver’s license, but if the scooter motor has a displacement of more than 50 cubic centimeters, then the operator of the scooter must have a motorcycle endorsement on their license.
Do You Have to Register It? Yes, because motor scooters fall under the definition of a motorcycle in Florida, these must be registered as well.
Do You Need a Helmet? The same helmet laws apply to motor scooters that apply to motorcycles in Florida. Individuals must wear a helmet if they are under the age of 21.
Age Restrictions? The same restrictions to motorcycles that apply to motor scooters. As with motorcycles, individuals must be age 16 or over and meet specific requirements.