Before filing a personal injury claim, it is important to have a good understanding of auto accident laws in Florida. Read this article for important information regarding personal injury claims. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to reach out to us and schedule a free consultation.
Understanding Auto Accident Laws in Florida | Auto Insurance Requirements
Florida requires drivers to carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) to pay for their own injuries after an accident, and at least $10,000 in property damage liability to pay for any damage they cause. The law does not require drivers to carry bodily injury liability insurance (BIL), but it is a very good idea to do so, given the consequences of causing a serious accident.
If you are hurt in an accident, your PIP insurance pays 80 percent of your reasonable medical expenses and 60 percent of your lost earnings, subject to the limits of your coverage and any deductible. Those limits are very important; if, for example, you sustain an injury requiring multiple surgeries and you miss more than six months of work but you only have the statutory minimum level of coverage, you’re going to finish with tens of thousands of dollars in uncompensated losses. Fortunately, Florida law allows you to step outside the no-fault system and sue the at-fault driver, if you have permanent scarring or disfigurement or if you suffer permanent loss of an important bodily function.
Statute of Limitations
You must file a lawsuit within four years of the date of your car accident or lose your right to compensation.
Understanding Auto Accident Laws in Florida | Comparative Fault
Florida follows the principle of pure comparative negligence, which reduces an injured party’s recovery according to his or her degree of fault. If the court finds you were also at fault and assigns you 10 percent of the blame, you can only recover for 90 percent of your losses. Insurance companies use these laws aggressively to defend claims and limit the amount they have to pay out to injured parties.
Schedule a Free Consultation with an Experienced Attorney
These rules apply to all vehicle accidents, including car, motorcycle, truck, bicycle, pedestrian and boat accidents. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact our office and arrange a free consultation with an experienced St. Petersburg car accident lawyer.